From God’s Kitchen

 

You’re so kind!
You must’ve been the dough hand patted in heaven,
then smoothed out to reach every corner
of the baking sheet, for you always
welcome all earth-faulted chips to rest upon you
while they’re exposed to life’s heat,
and they melt confident that you’ll help them
become as sweet of morsels as anyone.

You’re so caring!
You must’ve been the batter so scrumptious,
every angel have finger licked pieces of you
from the edge of the mixing bowl to assure
you’ve become the ideal cake, for you always
catch the faces of all persons disheartened after
their shallow layer of life’s beautiful frosting
has been eaten away.

Your aroma has lured me
from a den made of mirrored walls where
I’ve been hibernating for quite some time,
and suddenly I was blessed to hold up to my nose
the naturally divine culinary gift of you.
I smelled every element within your recipe,
fresh from God’s kitchen,
and though I’ve seen how you can’t save the whole world,
you’ve given me a strong taste on how to keep trying…
Though I’ve heard how not everyone cherishes you,
you’ve given me the flavor of cherishing everyone regardless…
Though I’ve felt your physical breakdowns
from the weight of everyone’s imperfection placed upon
your glass bottom emotion,
you’ve cleared my palate to savor spices hidden
within jaw breaking burden.

You’re so loving!
You must’ve been the Jell-O mold that God Himself
have placed every kind of sliced fruit from Eden within,
to serve as a preservative for humankind to someday
right the initial wrong with one shared spoonful,
for your gelatinous movement never sways
in a set direction, but is my guidance on how
to unravel my arms from around me and embrace
all the stars I’ve kept light years away.


 

Photograph Ryan Schaufler 2017
Photograph Ryan Schaufler 2017

Bio:

KEN WOODALL has been writing poetry for over 30 years, beginning with creative writing in high school, and minored in English at UW-Milwaukee with emphasis on creative writing.

During college, he was introduced to open mic reading at a number of venues in Milwaukee. He was featured at a popular local venue for the first time in 2006, and has been featured annually since.

In 2007, he began an open “mic-less” night at a coffee house, and in 2009 shifted to another coffee house where he continues to host the venue.


-TWITTERIZATION NATION: 8-29-2017


NOTICE: © 2017 TWITTERIZATION. ALL INDIVIDUAL WORKS COPYRIGHTED BY THEIR AUTHORS; ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. ALL POEMS AND ESSAYS ARE WORKS OF THE IMAGINATION.
COPYRIGHT NOTICE:
© TWITTERIZATION, 2015-2017. UNAUTHORIZED USE AND/OR DUPLICATION OF THIS MATERIAL WITHOUT EXPRESS AND WRITTEN PERMISSION FROM THIS SITE’S AUTHOR AND/OR OWNER IS STRICTLY PROHIBITED. EXCERPTS AND LINKS MAY BE USED, PROVIDED THAT FULL AND CLEAR CREDIT IS GIVEN TO THE POET/WRITER AND TWITTERIZATION WITH APPROPRIATE AND SPECIFIC DIRECTION TO THE ORIGINAL CONTENT.

 

Leave a comment